Storm Bugs - Lets Go Outside and Get it Over


Track listing:

1. Eat Good Beans

2. Hodge

3. Dull Sound of Breath

4. He Rose Up Again 

5. And She Blew

6. Slip Slap

7. Car Situations

8. Aboulia

9. Window Shopping 

10. A Safe Substitute

Tracks 1, 2, 4, 5, 9 by Philip Sanderson, tracks 3, 6, 7,10 by Philip Sanderson & Steven Ball



Format:CD, 500 copies

Release Date: 2001

Label: Snatch Tapes

Catalogue Number: TCH 213

Sleeve Design: Philip Sanderson & Steven Ball



A CD compilation of the Bugs finer moments digitally remastered from the original Snatch Tapes cassette and vinyl releases. CD now sold out.



From: the Sound Projector, 9th Issue by Ed Pinsent

"Storm Bugs ingeniously exploited the distorted vibrations they could tweak out of domestic hi-fi gear. With such primitive resources it's clear that there was some sharp creative judgement going on, because none of these ten tracks ever sound like two teenage herberts mucking around with biscuit tins and their Dad's stereogram. There are superficial echoes of This Heat and early Cabaret Voltaire but the skilfully layered textures of wireless interference, manipulated voices and faltering rhythmic clumps do justify the claim to a unique Storm Bugs sound. The track Window Shopping sucks you backwards through a time tunnel into the dawning Thatcher era, its clattering voices crowds of consumerist drones bustle through Oxford Street in the 1980 Christmas rush."


From: Gullboy

"Storm Bugs are an anomaly. How could such sounds, radically challenging the accepted texture of electronic music, have been recorded over 20 years ago? And how come nobody has ever heard of them? The tracks on Let's Go Outside and Get It Over... exhibit Storm Bugs' spacious, reverberating grittiness. Howled vocals shift from front to background in the midst of industrial pounding percussion loops, urgent echoing monotones and an array of tinny sound effects. The quiet moments on these songs are underlayed by disturbing mechanical creeks and muted primal thuds that evoke the cynical futurism of Fritz Lang or George Orwell. As complex and foreign as much of these recordings sound, the hand-made, DIY ethic of the group's production is distinctly present.".


From: Other Music

"I first became aware of the Storm Bugs due to their inclusion on the recent (and wonderfully dodgy) I Hate The Pop Group compilation... ...they were spiritual forefathers to Oval and today's Clicks & Cuts generation... ...I thrive on this kind of stuff and this is like uncovering a lost NWW album; my only complaint would be that these guys probably have enough material to fill five CDs.